Sunday, September 14, 2014

The Black Mage:First Year by Rachel E. Carter

The Black Mage:First Year by Rachel E. Carter
Publisher: Astraea Press
Page Amount: 278
Series: The Black Mage, #1
Source: Review

"Before the age of seventeen the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice –follow tradition, or pursue a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight or mage… 

For 15-year-old Ryiah the choice has always been easy. Become a warrior and leave the boring confines of her lowborn life behind. Set to enroll in the School of Knighthood on the eve of her next birthday, plans suddenly shift when her twin brother discovers powers. Hoping that hers will soon follow, she enrolls with Alex at the Academy instead –the realm’s most notorious war school for those with magic. 

Yet when she arrives Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Every “first-year” is given a trial year to prove their worth –and no amount of hard work and drive will guarantee them a spot. It seems like everyone is rooting for her to fail –and first and foremost among them Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived. 

When an accidental encounter leads Ryiah and Darren to an unlikely friendship she is convinced nothing good will come of it. But the lines become blurred when she begins to improve –and soon she is a key competitor for the faction of Combat… Still, nothing is ever as it seems –and when the world comes crashing down around her, Ry is forced to place faith in the one thing she can believe in –herself. Will it be enough?"


My Thoughts:
I was given for an honest review.I'll started with saying I can definitely see how fans of Tamora Pierce 's Song of the Lioness would love this. Between Ryiah and Alexander being twins and Ryiah training to be a mage. But girls are allowed to train with the boys. Ryiah is a force to be reckoned with. She trained very hard to get to where the first years get to at the end. I loved her bickering the Prince Darren. And how she wasn't sure what to make of him and the way he made her feel.

I am so glad to have been given a change to read and review The Black Mage:First Year by Rachel E. Carter. Highly recommend for fans of Tamora Pierce, Sarah J. Maas. Anyone who loves female progtanstic that kicks butt.

That ending....I need book two now!!!!!

5/5 stars, Happy Reading, Ashley.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

September TBR 2014

Since I had some reading slumps happen in August. I'm determined to read more in September. With Fall coming up I feel like curling up and getting alot of reading.

Here is my September TBR for 2014:

Currently reading:
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling about 65% done.
Its also a re-read

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
2. The Black Mage: First Year by Rachel E. Carter
This is for review!!
3. Daimon by Jennifer L. Armentrout
4. Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
5. Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout
6. Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout
7. Elixir by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Rereading the first half of the Covenant series to read the last two
8. Apollyon by Jennifer L. Armentrout
9. Sentinel by Jennifer L. Armentrout
10. Wild Heat by Bella Andre (re-read)
11. Hot As Sin by Bella Andre
12. Never Too Hot by Bella Andre
13. Sanctum by Sarah Fine (re-read)
14. Fractured by Sarah Fine

I've already read three books so far. I'll tell you all about them in my wrap up. But I really want to catch up/finish some series I own.  If I manage to get through all of these I might add some more. I know banned books week is the 21st to ?. I will try to read a banned book.

But that is my really big TBR for September. Hopefully I stick to it.

Happy Reading, Ashley.

August Wrap Up 2014 and Mini Reviews

Here is a look back at the books I read in August and mini reviews for them.

1. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
What to say about the Harry Potter series, that hasn't already been said. I loved it more than when I was a child. I'm so glad to be re-reading the series and to finally mark it off my series list. 5/5 stars
2. The Headless Ghost by R.L. Stine
Throughout the month I had times I didn't want to read at all. So I picked up a Goosebumps book, I'm not sure if I read this when I was a kid or not. But it was a quick and spooky read.
4/5 stars
3. The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe
I've been slowly working on this big book. I have read a few of Edgar's poems and stories in school. But it was great to read his other tales and poems. 5/5 stars
4. The Selection by Keira Cass
Hearing all about this book and series all over BookTube. I admit the hype it was drew me in and having been in a reading slump. It was just what I needed. I loved America and Prince Maxon. 5/5 stars
5. The Elite by Keira Cass 5/5 stars
6. The One by Keira Cass 5/5 stars
7. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
Another re-read of this installment of the series. 5/5 stars
8. Alanna by Tamora Pierce
If you haven't read anything by Tamora, I can't recommend her enough. Although the Song of the Lioness is the only series I've read by her. I love it enough to know Tamora is one of my favorite authors.

Well that is all I read in August. Please let me know what you think of the books I read and what you read in August.

Happy Reading, Ashley.