Saturday, October 30, 2010

Just Some Info

Hello My Book Peeps, I just wanted to you's know that I'm still reading In Dreams Begin by Skyler White which I got for review from the author. I'm just taking a break because I couldn't get into the book. I do plan on finishing it and posting a review on here and on my Youtube channel. Also I want to thank you all for following me I truly appreciate it and it means alot to me. I hope you'll look me up on Youtube and sub and also look for me on Goodreads .

Until next time, Happy Reading, Ashley!!

In My Mailbox (7)

In My Mailbox is a weekly meme by Kristi at The Story Siren.







Review:
None

Bought: None

Borrowed From The Library:
The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening and The Struggle by L.J. Smith
Wings by Aprilynne Pike
Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis (Debut Novel for 2010)
Hearts At Stake by Alyxandra Harvey (Debut Novel for 2010)
Memoirs Of A Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin
Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King


That's all for In My Mailbox this week, let me know what you guys got!! Hope you all had a safe and Happy Halloween!!

Love ya, Ashley!

Monday, October 11, 2010

An Update

Sorry I haven't posted anything in a week. I'm still battling this horrible cold that has decide to stay with me for 3 months now. So I haven't really been into reading alot. I am expecting a book in the mail. When I finally get I'll be posting a video on youtube.com about it. So go to my channel and look for it and I'll post it up on here as well!! I want to thank you all for you're patience and for following me. I truly grateful for it. I'm still new at this blogging thing so if you have any advice as to make it more interesting for you all let me know. 

I promise to post more often. Even if its just what's going on with me.

Happy Reading!! Ashley!!

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson


The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Released:  March 9th 2010
Published by:  Dial
Page Amount:  272
Edition:  hardcover


"Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey
dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in
town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable."
-Information and picture from www.goodreads.com.



My Overall Thoughts:
The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson is her debut novel. I found this novel to be very heart touching. The Sky Is Everywhere is about Lennie a 17 year old girl who just lost her sister Bailey, While deal with the loss of Bailey, Lennie also finds herself involved with 2 guys, one being her sister's boyfriend Toby and the other Joe Fontaine. Before her sister's death Lennie never really liked boys, so she finds it odd when two of them all notice her all of the sudden.

Throughout the book Lennie, thinks of how she has a future and that Bailey never will. She doesn't think its fair. In the end its her love for Joe that helps her believe in herself and that life doesn't end when you lose someone.

All in all I very heart touching novel. I gave it 4/5 stars because I don't think this novel would be for everyone and there is some swearing in it.

So if you're looking for something without fantasy and more real life, you should check this out!

Later, Ashley

Friday, October 1, 2010

The Christmas Chronicles: The Legend of Santa Claus by Tim Slover

The Christmas Chronicles: The Legend of Santa Claus
by Tim Slover

Released:  November 2nd 2010
Published by: Bantam
Page Amount: 176



" In this new holiday classic, Tim Slover crafts a marvelous, magical novel about how Santa Claus became the man he is today. After reading The Christmas Chronicles, you’ll believe all over again in the magic of the season.
 
Snow is falling, and the clock ticks toward midnight on Christmas Eve while countless children, too excited to sleep, anticipate the arrival of Santa Claus. But in Tim Slover’s deeply charming and utterly thrilling new novel, that’s the end rather than the beginning of the story. In this richly imagined tale of Santa’s origins, the man in full finally emerges. The Christmas Chronicles is at once an action-packed adventure, an inspiring story of commitment and faith, and a moving love story.

It all starts in 1343, when the child Klaus is orphaned and adopted by a craftsmen’s guild. The boy will grow to become a master woodworker with an infectious laugh and an unparalleled gift for making toys. His talent and generosity uniquely equip him to bestow hundreds of gifts on children at Christmas—and to court the delightful Anna, who enters his life on a sleigh driven by the reindeer Dasher and becomes his beloved wife.

Still, all is not snowfall and presents. Klaus will be shadowed by the envious Rolf Eckhof, who will stop at nothing to subvert him. But in the end, Santa’s magic is at last unleashed, flying reindeer come to his aid, and an epic battle between good and evil is waged in the frosty Christmas skies.

By turns enchanting, hair-raising, and inspirational, The Christmas Chronicles is a beguiling tale destined to become a holiday favorite for the ages."

-Information and picture from goodreads.com

My Overall Thoughts:
 I won The Christmas Chronicles: The Legend of Santa Claus by Tim Slover, from First Reads (Goodreads.com).

To my surprise I feel in love with this book. I'll be honest I wasn't thrilled about reading a book about Santa Claus.  For this wasn't like all the stories about this magical man. The Christmas Chronicles: The Legend of Santa Claus by Tim Slover, informs you about his life before coming the man we all know and love.

Without spoiling this for you my followers, I recommend you picking this book up when it comes out. For you'll be reading it every Christmas years to come!!

5/5 stars!!


Hope you enjoyed my review, Ashley