Sunday, September 14, 2014

The Black Mage:First Year by Rachel E. Carter

The Black Mage:First Year by Rachel E. Carter
Publisher: Astraea Press
Page Amount: 278
Series: The Black Mage, #1
Source: Review

"Before the age of seventeen the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice –follow tradition, or pursue a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight or mage… 

For 15-year-old Ryiah the choice has always been easy. Become a warrior and leave the boring confines of her lowborn life behind. Set to enroll in the School of Knighthood on the eve of her next birthday, plans suddenly shift when her twin brother discovers powers. Hoping that hers will soon follow, she enrolls with Alex at the Academy instead –the realm’s most notorious war school for those with magic. 

Yet when she arrives Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Every “first-year” is given a trial year to prove their worth –and no amount of hard work and drive will guarantee them a spot. It seems like everyone is rooting for her to fail –and first and foremost among them Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived. 

When an accidental encounter leads Ryiah and Darren to an unlikely friendship she is convinced nothing good will come of it. But the lines become blurred when she begins to improve –and soon she is a key competitor for the faction of Combat… Still, nothing is ever as it seems –and when the world comes crashing down around her, Ry is forced to place faith in the one thing she can believe in –herself. Will it be enough?"


My Thoughts:
I was given for an honest review.I'll started with saying I can definitely see how fans of Tamora Pierce 's Song of the Lioness would love this. Between Ryiah and Alexander being twins and Ryiah training to be a mage. But girls are allowed to train with the boys. Ryiah is a force to be reckoned with. She trained very hard to get to where the first years get to at the end. I loved her bickering the Prince Darren. And how she wasn't sure what to make of him and the way he made her feel.

I am so glad to have been given a change to read and review The Black Mage:First Year by Rachel E. Carter. Highly recommend for fans of Tamora Pierce, Sarah J. Maas. Anyone who loves female progtanstic that kicks butt.

That ending....I need book two now!!!!!

5/5 stars, Happy Reading, Ashley.

No comments:

Post a Comment